NOVEMBER 10, 2016

2016 Elections Snapshot

  • Donald Trump (R) was elected the 45th President of the United States.
  • Oregon Governor Kate Brown (D) retains her seat.
  • Former legislator Dennis Richardson (R) has won the race for Secretary of State.
  • Rep. Tobias Read, (D) has won the race for State Treasurer.
  • Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum (D) retains her seat.
  • Measure 97, the increase to the minimum corporate tax, is decisively defeated.
  • Democrats maintain control of the Oregon House 35-25 and Senate 17-13. 
  • Emergency physician Sharon Meieran wins her race to the Multnomah County Commission.

Presidential Race

In a major political upset, television personality and real estate mogul Donald Trump was elected President of the United States. Secretary Hillary Clinton won Oregon’s 9 electoral votes. 

Political upsets

Donald Trump —This will go down in history as one of the greatest political upsets in U.S. history. Trump’s all-but-certain loss was expected by the Washington press corps, the professional pollsters, elected officials and party operatives from both the GOP and Democratic circles.  Top Trump officials apparently told New York Times reporters – on Tuesday afternoon – that their candidate was about to lose. Given the historic nature of the upset, more questions than answers remain regarding the president elect and the changes inside Washington.

Former Rep. Dennis Richardson – His election as Secretary of State is the first time a Republican has been elected to a partisan state office since 1994. The last time a Republican won a statewide election was Gordon Smith to the U.S. Senate in 2002 (Senate seats are federal, not state, offices). Oregonians elect people to seven (formerly) eight statewide seats and, for 14 years, they’ve belonged exclusively to Democrats. It’s too early to know if Richardson’s win heralds a political shift for Oregon.

The Affordable Care Act – Also known as “Obamacare,” this is the centerpiece of President Obama’s domestic-policy legacy. Sen. Mitch McConnell, the Senate Majority Leader, has announced Congress will dismantle the ACA as soon as President-Elect Trump is sworn in. (Note: the centerpiece of the president’s foreign-policy legacy, the Iran nuclear weapons deal, also likely will unravel.)

Physician candidate races

Former OMA President Bud Pierce, a Salem oncologist, lost to Governor Kate Brown. Pierce, a first-time candidate, carried large swaths of the state but not the all-important population centers of Portland and the Willamette Valley.

Rep. Knute Buehler (R), won his race in Bend, Oregon.

In Multnomah County, emergency room physician Sharon Meieran won 68 percent of the vote in preliminary results to take the seat on the Multnomah County Commission vacated by Jules Bailey. http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2016/11/multnomah_county_election_resu.html

Congressional Race Highlights

U.S. Senate

Incumbent Ron Wyden (D) handily won re-election for another six-year term.

U.S. House of Representatives

All five members of Oregon’s congressional delegation — Democratic Reps. Earl Blumenauer, Suzanne Bonamici, Kurt Schrader, and Rep. Peter DeFazio, and Republican Rep. Greg Walden, all won their races for a two-year term. Walden is positioned to become the chair of the powerful House Energy and Commerce Committee. 


Governor Kate Brown, who took office after John Kitzhaber’s resignation just weeks into his fourth term, won with just over 50 percent of the vote. She will serve the remaining two years of John Kitzhaber’s term. She also must turn around and run for re-election year years from now.

Secretary of State

Former State Rep. Dennis Richardson, the Republican candidate for Governor in the 2014 race against John Kitzhaber, won the Secretary of State’s office. Jeanne Atkins, who was appointed to the position in March 2015, did not run for election.


House speaker pro-tem Tobias Read won his race. Ted Wheeler, the outgoing State Treasurer, was termed out. Wheeler is the mayor-elect of the City of Portland.

State Senate Races

The senate welcomes four new senators; Democrats lose one seat for a 17-13 majority

Senate seats are for four-year terms. This year 15 of them were up for election — including four open seats: Rep. Kathleen Taylor (D) wins the seat vacated by President Pro-Tem Diane Rosenbaum; Rep. Lew Frederick wins Sen. Chip Shield’s seat; and Dennis Linthicum has won the seat vacated by Sen. Doug Whitsett. Alan DeBoer (R) wins  Sen. Bates’s seat, costing the Democrats their supermajority.

State House Races

Democrats retain majority 35-25 

House seats are for two-year terms; all 60 of them are up for election. Here are the first term legislators: David Brock Smith (R) won House District 1; Pam Marsh (D) HD-5; Julie Fahey (D) HD-14; Teresa Alonso Leon (D) HD-22; Ron Noble (R) HD 24; Richard Vial (R) HD-26; Mark Meek (D) HD 40; Karin Power (D) HD 41; Tawna Sanchez (D) HD 43; Diego Hernandez (D) HD 47; Werner Reschke (R) HD 56. Janelle Bynum (D) has won HD 51.

Note: Primary election results are unofficial as of November 10. To get the latest results, visit the Secretary of State’s website: http://results.oregonvotes.gov

For more information about the legislative process, please contact Katy King.

June 2017

May 2017

April 2017

March 2017

February 2017

November 2016

September 2016

09/25/2016 September 2016

June 2016

April 2016

March 2016

February 2016

02/26/2016 Legislative Update

January 2016

December 2015

November 2015

October 2015

July 2015

June 2015

May 2015

April 2015

04/13/2015 Session Update

March 2015

February 2015

02/13/2015 News Update

02/06/2015 Session Update

January 2015